You’re Dead to Me

Dead Things by Stephen Blackmoore

dead.things

First Look:

Pretty standard Urban Fantasy cover.

Jacket Copy:

Necromancer is such an ugly word, but it’s a title Eric Carter is stuck with.

He sees ghosts, talks to the dead. He’s turned it into a lucrative career putting troublesome spirits to rest, sometimes taking on even more dangerous things. For a fee, of course.

When he left L.A. fifteen years ago he thought he’d never go back. Too many bad memories. Too many people trying to kill him.

But now his sister’s been brutally murdered and Carter wants to find out why.

Was it the gangster looking to settle a score? The ghost of a mage he killed the night he left town? Maybe it’s the patron saint of violent death herself, Santa Muerte, who’s taken an unusually keen interest in him.

Carter’s going to find out who did it and he’s going to make them pay.

As long as they don’t kill him first.

Sequel?

Naturally: it’s an Urban Fantasy.

Worth Reading?

skeptical

I Had Issues with it, but they weren’t really mechanical issues, so someone else might find it just right.

Notable Things:

Dexter-Morgan

Now, I’ve never gotten into Dexter, but I know people love it.  Anyway, Eric, our protagonist, is from the Dexter school of justice–since he can talk to ghosts, he knows when someone is a bad person, and if it will help him out, he’ll just kill them.

opportunity

I think it’s really this opportunism of his that made me most uncomfortable.  I understand the urge to clean up the streets, and perhaps even the urge to take care of what traditional law enforcement misses, but there was a quite a bit of “Well, I need a car, and this ghost says this cab driver killed him, so I will kill the driver and take his car.”  I don’t expect my UF hero(ine)s to be moral exemplars, but I do expect them to try to be decent human beings, and this was just too iffy for me.

Muerte-Blanca_6

Now here’s a thing I really liked: Santa Muerte.  She is a character in the book, and the way that she interacts with Eric means that there should be a very interesting dynamic in further books.  I probably still won’t read them, though.

Elaboration:

Like I said, I don’t think that this book is awful, but it’s just not my speed.  I am a little curious about what happens with the Santa Muerte thing, but I’ll probably just drown that out with all the other UF sequels I’m waiting on.

Disclosure:

Borrowed from work.

Reactions?

