Here Blog Tour Stop and Review

Here by Ella James (Blog Tour Post)

Today I am pleased to be part of the blog tour for Here by Ella James.  Thanks to the author and Mark My Words Publicity for making it possible.

here

First Look:

Pretty boy, pretty picture.  It does strongly hint at an answer that does not appear till most of the way through the book–to the extent that I guessed correctly before even starting the book.

Jacket Copy:

Milo Mitchell’s life used to be charmed, but that was before her family dissolved, she went a little crazy, and her best friends started acting more like strangers. Spending Saturday morning in a treehouse with a stun gun for company and a herd of deer for friends is the only exciting thing in her life…until she shoots a fawn and finds her dart stuck in a guy.

Her gorgeous victim is dressed in a Brioni tux and armed with a hanky. He has no idea who or where he is. Afraid her dart caused his amnesia, Milo takes him in, names him Nick, and vows to help him solve his mystery. Soon the pair find Nick’s face in a newspaper obituary, and Nick beings to have strange, ethereal memories of Milo–who is sure she’s never met him. Suddenly Nick knows things he shouldn’t know and is doing things he shouldn’t do. When the Department of Defense shows up, Nick and Milo run–toward a shocking conclusion that could destroy both their worlds.

Sequel?

Yep, this is the first in a series.

Worth Reading?

um

There’s nothing major wrong with it, but I can’t say I loved it, either.

Excerpt:

I shouldn’t have come to Milo’s house, but I was riding for my life, and when I thought about it ending, all I’d wanted—literally the only thing I thought about—was her.

It was startling, the clarity, the sense of purpose, because shortly after I saw Milo’s concert, I got mind-jacked. I didn’t know by what, but the presence had a serious hard-on for calculus and physics, other things I shouldn’t know or care about. I had a freaky suspicion that it was the Real Me, and that the Real Me was some kind of wizard/astrophysicist.

I spent two days in my bed after it happened, hung over on numbers, figures, but by the third day I could handle it. And my superpower had come back, stronger.

I knew intuitively how to control the van, how many meters away the Harley was when I landed, how to start it, how to drive it.

I ran for it as the van spun, tires screeching as it turned to come back for me. It had been modified, was faster than the bike, but I knew the town grid completely, and I’d clogged their fuel injector, which meant that ten minutes after our little chase started, I had lost them.

I doubled back, took an indirect path to get to Milo’s house. I didn’t want to leave an easy trail. When I pulled up and they were nowhere to be seen, I thought I had evaded them, told myself I had gotten away. But it wasn’t until I saw Milo that I realized what I’d done. I should have added to my lead, driven far away, stolen another bike, a car, hopped a train, gone anywhere but were I was. Where she was.

And what did I get for my utter stupidity?

Milo, wide-eyed and concerned. Milo, rubbing my back, tapping my knee. Milo heedless of the danger. Milo, achingly close.

She was leaning over me now, blowing on the scrape she’d just cleaned. “That feel any better?”

I nodded, my nose and forehead digging into her blankets.

“Good.” I felt her hand trail up my spine, then lift away and land atop my hair.

“You can go to sleep, you know. I’ll keep watch, just in case.”

I shook my head, dizzy from the pill and her soft hand. “I need to…leave…”

Notable Things:

batman

Mysterious Hero!  Nick may not quite be Batman, but he is an extremely talented, very handsome, and intriguing hero. He does, however, get to be annoying later in the book–because he is pretty much perfect , and perfect tends to be boring.

thin

It’s short–too short, actually.  I don’t have any objection to a book being short because the story is done (The Ocean at the End of the Lane is short, and it’s basically perfect), but Here cuts off abruptly in order to make the story a series.  In my opinion, a series should still have a distinct story for each book, and the sudden end to this one feels less like a cliffhanger and more like someone removed the “Bridge Out” sign.

snowflake

Apparently Milo is a super speshul snowflake.  It’s spoilery to say any more here, but for no apparent reason, she’s Very Unique and Precious.

Elaboration:

As I said above, I didn’t love it, but I didn’t hate it, either.  The secondary characters are basically nonexistent–for all intents and purposes, there are three characters: Nick, Milo, and The Antagonist (which is an organization, with several individuals shown, but they all basically boil down to “Agent”).  Despite my frustrations with the main characters, I did like some plot elements, and it’s a quick read.  But you’ve been warned about that ending!

Disclosure:

I received a free digital review copy in exchange for participating in the blog tour.

Reactions?

