Cover Reveal–Death Is But a Dream

Death Is But a Dream by Erin Hayes

Today I am pleased to be part of the cover reveal for Death Is But a Dream, courtesy of Xpresso Book Tours.

Publication date: Fall, 2013
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Mythology

Synopsis:

Caught between life and death, all Callie wants is to live again.Homicide detective Callie Saunders knows that death isn’t all pearly gates and angels. After being hit by a bus, she finds that it’s the ancient gods and goddesses of Greek mythology who are in charge of everything.So when Hades offers her a deal, she accepts. If she wants to be brought back to life, she’ll have to figure out who is trying to kill his son. But if she fails, both her soul and the world will be destroyed.

With the odds mounting against her, it’ll take everything she has within her to wake up from death. But the rules are constantly changing. And someone wants her to stay dead. Continue reading

Monday TBR 8/26

Since I already had a post yesterday, and also I forgot to take the pictures, TBR is today.

DSCN1135

 

This is home TBR.  You may have noticed that I’ve kind of stalled out on His Dark Materials.  I do intend to finish it someday…but that day is not today.

DSCN1136

 

Work Currently Reading.  Cunt is also a book I’m moving through very slowly.

Audio:

Requiem by Lauren Oliver.  I’m pausing on this, because I listen to it when I bike to work, and my bike needs repairs.

Ebook:

Indexed by Seanan McGuire.

Kushiel: The Next Generation

Kushiel’s Scion by Jacqueline Carey

kushiel's scion

First Look:

It’s a consistent look for the covers, although I find it a bit odd that Phedre in a sexy pose is on the cover of this one, considering it’s mainly about her stepson.  I mean, Phedre was already on the covers of all three of her own books, so now that this is Imriel’s book, whither the beefcake?

Jacket Copy:

Imriel de la Courcel’s blood parents are history’s most reviled traitors, but his adoptive parents, the Comtesse Phèdre and the warrior-priest Joscelin, are Terre d’Ange’s greatest champions.

Stolen, tortured, and enslaved as a young boy, Imriel is now a Prince of the Blood, third in line for the throne in a land that revels in art, beauty, and desire. It is a court steeped in deeply laid conspiracies … and there are many who would see the young prince dead. Some despise him out of hatred for his birth mother Melisande, who nearly destroyed the realm in her quest for power. Others because they fear he has inherited his mother’s irresistible allure – and her dangerous gifts. And as he comes of age, plagued by dark yearnings, Imriel shares their fears.

At the royal court, where gossip is the chosen poison and assailants wield slander instead of swords, the young prince fights character assassins while struggling with his own innermost conflicts. But when Imriel departs to study at the famed University of Tiberium, the perils he faces turn infinitely more deadly. Searching for wisdom, he finds instead a web of manipulation, where innocent words hide sinister meanings, and your lover of last night may become your hired killer before dawn. Now a simple act of friendship will leave Imriel trapped in a besieged city where the infamous Melisande is worshiped as a goddess; where a dead man leads an army; and where the prince must face his greatest test: to find his true self. Continue reading

Beholding Paris

Belle Epoque by Elizabeth Ross

belle epoque

First Look:

Pretty!  The cover design was the reason I gave it a second glance.

Jacket Copy:

When Maude Pichon runs away from provincial Brittany to Paris, her romantic dreams vanish as quickly as her savings. Desperate for work, she answers an unusual ad. The Durandeau Agency provides its clients with a unique service—the beauty foil. Hire a plain friend and become instantly more attractive.

Monsieur Durandeau has made a fortune from wealthy socialites, and when the Countess Dubern needs a companion for her headstrong daughter, Isabelle, Maude is deemed the perfect foil.

But Isabelle has no idea her new “friend” is the hired help, and Maude’s very existence among the aristocracy hinges on her keeping the truth a secret. Yet the more she learns about Isabelle, the more her loyalty is tested. And the longer her deception continues, the more she has to lose. Continue reading

Sunday TBR 8/11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next on my TBR (home):

DSCN1124

 

You may note that a lot of these are the same as my last similar post, two weeks ago.  I feel like I’ve been reading less in each given day lately.  I don’t know why.  Maybe it’s the weather or something.

Work:

I think I left this off my first preview post, but of course I have an at-work TBR pile, too.  Currently reading Ten Cents a Dance by Christine Fletcher.  Next week I’ll try to have a photo of my whole work TBR.

Audio:

Requiem by Lauren Oliver

Ebook:

Indexing by Seanan McGuire (Serial).

Can I Get the Alt Version?

Dualed by Elsie Chapman

dualed

First Look:

Cool dystopian-esque city view.  I like that the shadow is different, but I almost think it’s too subtle.  Maybe if they switched the knife & the gun from girl to shadow.

Jacket Copy:

In the city of Kersh, everyone must eliminate their genetic Alternate twin, raised by another family, before their twentieth birthday. West Grayer, 15, has trained as a fighter, and has one month to hunt and kill her Alt. A tragic misstep shakes her confidence. Guilty, grieving, she feels unworthy, runs from her Alt and from love – both can destroy her. Continue reading

Quick Takes #4

Princess Academy: Palace of Stone, Thirsty, Cat Girl’s Day Off, Saga (1&2), The Lost Boy, The King’s Guard

I’ve been feeling awfully lazy about blogging lately, and I only have about 10 more books to review before I’m close to real time.  Plus, several of these are giving me some headaches as to what to say about them.  So, without further ado, Quick Takes #4!

Princess Academy: Palace of Stone by Shannon Hale

palaceofstone

The continuing adventures of Miri and crew (but mostly Miri).  They go to the capital for their friend’s wedding, and manage to stumble onto revolution.  Also, a love triangle.

How It Made Me Feel:

belle

It was sweet, and cute, but not as subtle as its predecessor.  I did like the difficulty of the revolution, because it can’t be easy to find a balance between not really changing anything, and French Revolution bloodbath.  Mostly, the book just made me wistful for the first one.

Thirsty by M.T. Anderson

thirsty

Chris is slowly turning into a vampire, and doesn’t know what to do about it.  Should he trust his friends and family?  Can anyone save him?

How It Made Me Feel:

confused tennant

I enjoyed the ride, but I was totally confused the whole time, up to and including right now.  I know that this was on purpose, because it was what Chris was feeling most of the time.  I read the book as a metaphor for puberty, although some have read it as a questioning/coming out metaphor.  Not my favorite M.T. Anderson, but still worth reading.

Cat Girl’s Day Off by Kimberly Pauley

catgirl

Natalie’s family are all geniuses/superpowered with flashy powers.  Natalie herself?  Can communicate with cats (and sometimes basic Dog phrases).  She doesn’t want people to know that she has such a lame power, so she’s told almost no one.  But today, she might save someone’s life with her talent!

How It Made Me Feel:

golfclap

It’s a great concept, but in execution–the cats should be funnier, for one thing.  It sounds madcap, and the outline of the plot is, but somehow the writing is just not snappy enough to fit with the action.

Saga, Volumes 1 & 2, by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples

saga

Two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending war fall in love and start a family.

How It Made Me Feel:

Beatles

I was already a fan of Brian K. Vaughan’s writing, and after this, I’m a huge fan of Fiona Staples’ art.  Honestly, the reason I’m putting Saga in this post is not because I don’t have anything to say: it’s because others have already said it.  Just read, ASAP.

The Lost Boy by Greg Ruth

(ARC review: book available August 27th, 2013.)

lost boy

Nate just moved with his family to a small town, and strange things are happening around his house.  He finds a tape recorder with tapes recorded by a boy who mysteriously disappeared a long time ago, and begins to unravel the mystery.

How It Made Me Feel:

dizzy

It started out very strong, with creepy characters, and intriguing mysteries.  There is also very strong art, which doesn’t change throughout the book.  But when action started to speed up, new worldbuilding elements and characters started to be introduced at a bewildering rate, and things were moving way too fast.  Suddenly, the story was wrapped up without me having a chance to even process it.  I really think this should have been expanded and stretched into several volumes.

The King’s Guard by Rae Carson

kingsguard

 

A prequel digital novella about Hector, and how he earned his place on the King’s Guard.

How It Made Me Feel:

dreamy

 

I love this series, and I love Hector, so…yeah, loved it!

Disclosure:

Borrowed all from work, with the exception of The King’s Guard, which I bought, and The Lost Boy, which I got for free at work.  I have every intention of buying Saga when I am in a better place, financially.

If “Mystic” Means “Cheesy and Exaggerated”…

Mystic City by Theo Lawrence

mystic

First Look:

Well, it’s a city.  What’s with her hair?  I don’t know.  It’s attractive, though I think The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms‘ cover did this much more effectively.

Jacket Copy:

For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City’s two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents’ sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn’t remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can’t conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself. Continue reading