Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2013

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

There have been a lot of books this year that I’ve enjoyed, but these are the ones that stood out the most.  I cheated a bit by putting a few series in there, but only if I’ve actually read all of the books of the series this year.

oceanlane

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

There is nothing more that I can say about this book which I did not already say in my review.  I’m pretty sure this is in my top ten of the whole year, maybe of the whole 5 years.

whitecat

The Curse Workers Series by Holly Black

I think that the fact it’s trilogy that tells three separate stories is a lot to celebrate right off the bat!  Then add the fact that it’s a beautiful, creepy, sad dark fantasy with a forbidden romance, and it’s written in a great immediate, engrossing style?  It’s so worth your time.

rosemary

The October Daye Series by Seanan McGuire

I haven’t done a full review of these yet.  Seanan McGuire is one of my two go-to gal authors for great urban fantasy…I can’t believe I only discovered her recently!  She writes adventure, fantasy, emotion, humor, and romance well.  The best part is, there’s more to come!  I’ve read all the novels that are out, but she’s working on more!

9528a-diviners

The Diviners by Libba Bray

I love Libba Bray.  She’s funny, talented, and writes in a variety of styles and settings.  This is set in 1920s New York, and it’s spooky, mysterious, and entertaining.  Can’t wait for the next one!

ed21d-crown

Crown of Embers by Rae Carson

There are two main reasons why I love this series.  One is that it’s high fantasy for teens, which doesn’t happen a lot now.  There’s lots of middle grade, and tons of teen paranormal romance, but not so much teen high fantasy.  The other reason is the unusual, relatable heroine, who truly grows and changes a lot over the course of the series.  Also, Hector.

92570-100000

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K Jemisin

I had heard wonderful things about Jemisin, and I was not disappointed.  Her writing is beautiful, the story is court intrigue/romance/mythology, and she just nails it.  Held my breath during several passages.  No wonder we hardly get her books in my (used) bookstore–people are holding on to their copies!

papervalentine

Paper Valentine by Brenna Yovanoff

I haven’t officially reviewed this one yet, either.  Yovanoff has a delicate, dreamy narrative style that I simply love.  I’ve loved all three of her published novels so far, and expect to love more!  This one is a mystery/thriller/ghost story, taking on the intense topic of serial young girl murders.  The ending is very satisfying, which, when you’re talking about serial murders, is saying something.

e8651-ee

Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger

Carriger is my other favorite urban fantasy author.  I like her for the same reasons as I like McGuire–adventure, emotion, humor, romance, all handled in just the right balance.  And she has excellent fashion sense.

bloodandshadow

The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman

Excitement, Mystery, Danger, Secret Societies, the Voynich Manuscript!  What’s not to love?

That’s it.  I know that’s nine on the list, but with the series, I’m going to call it good enough.

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2013

  1. Ooh, I also loved Curse Workers, The Diviners, and Crown of Embers! And I’m glad to hear that Etiquette and Espionage is so good – I really want to read it! Great list!

  2. Pingback: Ghosts of Yesterday | The Book Fix

Reactions?

