Monstrously Cute!

Martin Monsterman by Manny Trembley

[Note: I have closer ties than usual to this book, so please note the disclosure at the bottom.]

martin

First Look:

A plethora of cute, colorful monsters!  I love it.

Jacket Copy:

Martin Monsterman is under a curse that turns him into a random monster for a predetermined amount of time. Moonlit nights for were-creatures, vampires on other nights, yetis and squid monsters during the day. Will Martin be able to overcome his curse?

Sequel?

Nope, it’s a standalone.

Worth Reading?

ferris

Wacky, fun adventures?  Sign me up!

Notable Things:

monsterman

Art!  The fun, colorful art popped off the page.

gumiho16-00508

Cute love story!  There’s a sweet romance in the book, very adorable, but not too sweet.  If you’ve seen My Girlfriend Is a Gumiho, you understand what a compliment this pic is. 🙂

monsters

Monsters!  Poor Martin turns into so many different monsters, he probably turns into your favorite at least once.  That is, if you’re the sort of person who has favorite monsters….

Elaboration:

I had a fun 45 minutes or so reading this graphic novel, which probably makes it about at perfect reading level for junior high.  However, I would say that most any age could enjoy it.  I love the bright, cheerful colors, especially when used on the monsters.  I’d recommend it to anyone wanting a quick and amusing graphic novel.  The only problem I had with it was minor–I few typos/misspellings, but not many.

Disclosure:

I received my copy from the author, because I contributed to the Kickstarter that helped bring the book into being.  Also, the author is my cousin’s husband’s brother, but I have only met him once (at their wedding).

Reactions?

