I’m…Still on Team Human

Team Human by Justine Larbalestier and Sarah Rees Brennan

Team Human

First Look:

Generic Love Triangle Shot.  It’s the title, tag line, and somewhat the names (I’ve read and liked one solo work by each of the authors) that hooked me.

Jacket Copy:

Residing in New Whitby, Maine, a town founded by vampires trying to escape persecution, Mel finds her negative attitudes challenged when her best friend falls in love with one, another friend’s father runs off with one, and she herself is attracted to someone who tries to pass himself off as one.

Sequel?

Nope.

Worth Reading?

confused-buffy

Hmm…well, it’s a quick, frothy little read, but it wasn’t exactly what I expected.

Notable Things:

darkhelmet

Parody!  Team Human is a parody of the teen supernatural romance genre, but it is a loving parody.

NoVampires

Anti-Vampire Movement!  Actually, Mel doesn’t want to persecute vampires, exactly, she just doesn’t want her friend to date one.  However, the book turns that on its head by being…

no-prejudice

…An Issue Book!  It’s about prejudice and not expecting your friends to make the same choices as you would.  I won’t deny that it’s an important message, but I kind of wish it hadn’t been this book’s message.

Elaboration:

I really wanted Team Human to be much funnier and perhaps a little more mean-spirited than it was.  (I’m really over vampires.)  I think this expectation was mostly due to the tag line and wishful thinking, rather than outright false advertising, but I was still disappointed.  I really didn’t expect it to be An Issue Book, which (with capitals) are uniformly kind of lame at the end, because they have to fit in the moral.

Disclosure:

Bought.

Reactions?

