Way Cooler Than Nancy Drew

The Girl is Trouble by Kathryn Miller Haines

First Look:

Love it.  Not only is (pretty much) her whole face showing, she’s the same model from the first volume, and the look and feel of the photo is perfectly 1940s noir, which is exactly what the book is!

*Beyond this point be SPOILERS for the first volume of the series*

Jacket Copy:

Iris Anderson and her father have finally come to an understanding. Iris is allowed to help out at her Pop’s detective agency as long as she follows his rules and learns from his technique. But when Iris uncovers details about her mother’s supposed suicide, suddenly Iris is thrown headfirst into her most intense and personal case yet.

Series?

There had better be! I would read them as soon as I could get my hands on them!  I would love to read her adult mystery series, too.

Worth Reading?

Yes!  I like to think that if the dearly departed VMars were aware of Iris Anderson, she’d look on her as a little sister.  To train and corrupt.

Notable Things:

Teen Girl Sleuth in Noir Setting!  No explanation necessary.

Historical Authenticity!  It’s easiest to see in the language choices, but Haines is deft with other details, like clothes, attitudes, and mores.

Detective Noir! I know I already mentioned the noir flavor, but it deserves its own category.  Because it’s awesome.

Elaboration:

If I haven’t convinced you at this point…you probably didn’t watch/like Veronica Mars.  Iris isn’t as experienced as Veronica, or as quippy, but they are equally smart and determined to find the answers, and hopefully justice (however they define it).  They also both have awesome single dads, and I’m a sucker for a good daddy/daughter relationship. Haines writes smoothly, and Iris is a very sympathetic character. I can’t wait for more of Iris’ story!

Disclosure:

Borrowed; would have bought, but the copy I borrowed from work was damaged, and I like my books pretty.

Reactions?

