Super Speshul Snowflakes in Dystopia

Legend by Marie Lu

First Look:

It’s striking, and different than the norm, so I like those two things about it, but otherwise I think it’s kind of ugly.  The bronze-and-steel color scheme is not attractive to me, and the seal, while it does look military-esque, still makes me think it’s the logo for some company beginning with “R”.

Jacket Copy:

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.
Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills.

Sequel?

Natch.  Prodigy is out next year, but I’m dropping this series (get it?).

Worth Reading?

This is a summer blockbuster of a book.  It’s entertaining, action is non-stop, but you probably know who the bad guy is pretty quickly, and a week later you might not remember if  a certain scene is from this movie or another similar one.

Notable Things:

Perfect Paragons!  Day and June are SO perfect, it’s disgusting.  They’re athletic and smart and observant and extremely beautiful.  I couldn’t stand them.

Blond Mongolian!  Okay, so this is a real thing: I looked it up because I’d never heard of this genetic profile before.  But it’s just one more thing that’s SO SPESHUL about the hero of Legend.  It’s not that I’m against authors writing about people who have genetics that make them unique, but Day couldn’t be more unique in every way.

Future of the U.S.!  It’s a dystopia  (and I do love them) where the U.S. has broken into several pieces and the government of the Republic (where June and Day live) has suppressed all knowledge of the U.S. as a whole country in history.  The world building was probably my favorite thing about this book, although a lot of information is held back for further installments.

Weird Text Colors.  Day and June alternate narrating the book, and Day’s chapters are in this weird greeny-brown color.  It’s dark enough that it doesn’t make my eyes buggy, but strange eye-killing text colors (i.e., the Shiver trilogy) are normally one of my deal breakers.

Elaboration:

The thing is, I couldn’t like Day or June, because they are too perfect.  In addition, they have a near insta-love, which is especially unbelievable on June’s part, since she has to throw out everything that she knows in order to commit to Day.  Because of that, I didn’t care very much about the plot.  Although I did enjoy the world building to an extent, it wasn’t fleshed out enough for me to love it, and because I guessed the villain(s) pretty quickly, there was nothing that I cared deeply about to keep me reading.  Fortunately(?) for the book, the constant action helped me finish it.   If I were Lu’s editor, I would have told her to save the love story for the second volume, as well as stretch out the time where June and Day were getting to know each other.  That would have been much more convincing for me.

Disclosure:

Borrowed.

Reactions?

