Poetic Tales

Psyche in a Dress by Francesca Lia Block

First Look:

Strangely Gorgeous.  The pieces of the design make sense, symbolically, to the themes of the book.

Jacket Copy:

But this is what 

I could not give up: 

I could not give up myself.

Psyche has known Love–scented with jasmine and tasting of fresh oranges. Yet he is fleeting and fragile, lost to her too quickly. Punished by self-doubt, Psyche yearns to be transformed, like the beautiful and brutal figures in the myths her lover once spoke of. Attempting to uncover beauty in the darkness, she is challenged, tested, and changed by the gods and demons who tempt her. Her faith must be found again, for if she is to love, she must never look back.

Series?

Nope!

Worth Reading?

For poets and romantics, yes.  It really depends on how much you love poetry and fairy tales/myths.  I don’t care a lot about the former, but love the latter.  Those universal emotions and archetypal situations have become cliches for a reason!  Plus, something about Block’s writing just gets to me.

Notable Things:

The story is based on several Greco-Roman myths, including my absolute favorite, Cupid & Psyche!

Francesca Lia Block.  As aforementioned, I just love her, for no one particular reason.  I just do!  I must say, I don’t really characterize her as a YA author,  but her publishers/the Library of Congress seem to.

Elaboration:

It’s hard to talk about the plot without telling you everything, but suffice to say that there is a coming of age story here, as well as love lost and regained and lost again and regained again.  Block moves through several myths, recasting the heroine each time.  It’s moving and visceral, heartbreaking and heartwarming by turns.  The last few chapters seemed a bit anticlimactic to me, but maybe that’s because I’ve never been through anything like that in real life.

Disclosure:

Borrowed.

Reactions?

